Posted by .

Here at ROWONTARIO, it is our mission to enhance participation and excellence throughout the province. A staple in our calendar year is our annual Training Conference and AGM.

This year, coaches and club members arrived at the International Plaza Hotel in Toronto on Saturday November 28 and Sunday November 29. All day Saturday participants took part in numerous seminars, all aimed at providing valuable information for coaches, athletes, club administrators, and umpires.

During our lunch buffet, the ROWONTARIO awards were presented to very deserving recipients:

ROWONTARIO Recreational Coach of the Year: Janet Buchan (Ottawa RC)

IMG_3438 ROWONTARIO Competitive Coach of the Year: Stu McKenzie (Ottawa RC)

IMG_3496  ROWONTARIO Male Umpire of the Year: Andrew Smith

IMG_3497  ROWONTARIO Female Umpire of the Year: Lynda Dundas

ROWONTARIO Athlete of the Year: Josh King (Ottawa RC/Trent University)

IMG_3474   IMG_3472  ROWONTARIO High School Bursary: Gavin Stone (Island Lake RC) and Nicholas Grubic (Leander RC)

IMG_3454  ROWONTARIO Umpire Lifetime Achievement Award: Jim Stone

IMG_3494  ROWONTARIO President’s Award: Harry Edmondstone

IMG_3444  ROWONTARIO Club of the Year: St. Catharines Rowing Club


We would like to also congratulate all recipients of this year’s Volunteer Certificates.

On Sunday, the annual ROWONTARIO Annual General Meeting took place. To review the minutes of the meeting click here.

The Rowing Canada Aviron National Conference will be hosted January 28-31, 2016. Click here for more details.

We hope that you all had a terrific 2015 and we look forward to what 2016 has to offer.

Happy Holidays Everyone!