Weekend Wrap: First Ever Virtual CIRC Features Rowers From Across Rowing World
Competition/ Feb 8

Weekend Wrap: First Ever Virtual CIRC Features Rowers From Across Rowing World

The first ever virtual Canadian Indoor Rowing Championships took place over the weekend and featured several outstanding performances from rowers competing across the globe.

The virtual format of the event allowed for more international competitors than ever before as 707 rowers from 184 clubs competed on their Concept2 Model D ergometers. The competitors for this unique edition of CIRC competed in either open weight or light weight age categories from under-17 to 90-94 years across distances of 500m or 2000m. The majority of the races were contested at 2000m and included a number of impressive from both Canadians and those competing from abroad.

The fastest time of the weekend in 2000m races belonged to Gregory Davis of the USA who won the men’s open division in time a 5:53.0. The fastest Canadian athlete was Chris Glasgow who placed third in the men’s 30-39 category in a time of 6:07.4. Glasgow pulled double duty on the weekend, also competing in the open men’s 500m category, where he finished in a time of 1:17.9, good for the fastest time among all men’s competitors. On the women’s side, a pair of USA athletes pulled in the fastest times of the weekend, as Kirsten Kline of the Greater Houston Rowing Club won the 2000m open women’s race in a time of 6:51.0, while Morgan McGrath won the 500m open women’s race in a time of 1:32.3. The fastest Canadian women of the weekend were national team athlete Marilou Duvernay-Tardif, who finished just behind Kline in a time of 6:53.0 in the 2000m, and Lisa Bos of the St. Catharines Rowing Club who raced to a time of 1:37.2 in the 500m.

In lightweight action, the fastest Canadians over the two-day event were Jasmine Carter of the University of Toronto (1:43.2) in the women’s 500m, Manuela Fahme (7:29.9) in the women’s 2000m, George Bryan-Orr (1:37.2) in the men’s 500m, and 2012 Olympian Derek O’Farrell (6:34.5) in the men’s 2000m.

A number of Ontario rowers had impressive performances at CIRC as well, including Shane Keagan of Ridley College who picked up two victories on the weekend, winning the U19 men’s 500m (1:19.8) and the U17 men’s 2000m (6:15.3) in a field that featured 60 competitors. Isabella Durcak of the Leander Boat Club finished just ahead of her sister Zoe in a time of 7:34.2 to win the lightweight U19 women’s 2000m race, while Durcak’s training partner at the Ontario NextGen Performance Centre Abbey Maillet of Laurentian University claimed the lightweight U23 women’s 2000m in an identical time of 7:34.2. Three Ontario rowers also swept the podium in the U23 men’s 2000m division as Sam Stewart (Brock University, 6:09.8), Aidan Hembruff (Ottawa Rowing Club, 6:11.3), and Ian Holmquist (Peterborough Rowing Club, 6:11.5) battled until the final metre.

The junior racing categories saw CIRC’s deepest fields compete as a total of 263 U17 and U19 rowers competed. The women’s U17 2000m event featured 74 competitors, the most of any race. The USA’s Catherine Berry won the race in a time of 7:23.9, while Eryn Wale of Victoria City Rowing Club was the top Canadian placing fourth in a time 7:36.0. Erika Porter of the Don Rowing was the top Ontario athlete, placing seventh in a time of 7:39.0.

This year CIRC was designated by World Rowing as a Continental Qualifier for the Americas for entry to the 2021 World Rowing Indoor Championships on Feb. 23-27. Top placing competitors earned a spot to compete in the WRICH 2021 final in their category.

Category Winners

Women’s 500m
Open – Morgan McGrath – USA (Unaffiliated): 1:32.3
Open LW – Kate Bruck – GBR (Unaffiliated): 1:41.6
U19 – Danielle Kaschula – ZIM (Peterhouse School): 1:32.8
U19 LW – Emma Staller – USA (Oyster Bay Community Rowing): 1:50.3
U23 – Kirpa Dhillon – CAN (University of Guelph): 1:43.6

Men’s 500m
Open – Chris Glasgow – CAN (GARAGEATHLETE): 1:17.9
Open LW – Gregor Hall – GBR (Stirling Rowing Club): 1:24.3
U19 – Shane Keagan – CAN (Ridley College): 1:19.8
U19 LW – Matt Califano – USA (CHS Rowing): 1:43.5
U23 – Cedric Pecora – CAN (University of Guelph): 1:32.4
U23 LW – Rhys Davies – GBR (Aberporth Rowing Club): 1:34.1

Women’s 2000m
Open – Kirsten Kline – USA (Greater Houston Rowing Club): 6:51.0
Open LW – Manuela Fahme – CAN (Unaffiliated): 7:29.9
U17 – Catherine Berry – USA (Oak Neck Rowing Academy): 7:23.9
U19 – Ellie Sousa – CAN (Victoria City Rowing Club): 7:16.8
U19 LW – Isabella Durcak – CAN (Leander Boat Club): 7:34.2
U23 – Zoe Acosta – URU (Club de Remeros Mercedes): 7:10.6
U23 LW – Abbey Maillet – CAN (Laurentian University): 7:34.2
W30 – Kirsten Kline – USA (Greater Houston Rowing Club: 6:51.7
LW30 – Stefanie Weissenisen-Lund – USA (Unaffiliated): 7:40.5
W40 – Jordan Falcone – USA (Unaffiliated): 7:04.9
LW40 – Elizabeth Carson – USA (Concept Fitness): 7:18.6
W50 – Margit Haahr Hansen – DEN (Danske Studenters Roklub): 7:22.6
LW50 – Samantha Ayers – GBR (Lakeland Rowing Club): 7:35.8
W55 – Jennifer Baker – USA (Unaffiliated): 8:28.5
LW55 – Michelle Raiche-Marsden – CAN (Mic Mac Amateur Aquatic Club): 8:02.9
W60 – Carla Stein – USA (Taff Attack Racing): 7:37.0
LW60 – Daphne Scott – USA (Unaffiliated): 8:20.4
W70 – Eillen Ryan – USA (Narragansett Boat Club): 8:05.2
LW75 – Barbara Hogan – USA (Fairmount Rowing Association): 9:03.6
W85 – Alida Kingswood – CAN (Unaffiliated): 10:24.5
PR1 – Daniela Sanchez – MEX (Remeros Paralímpicos en Apoyo a la Discapacidad Física): 15:57.5
PR3 – Angeles Gutierrez – MEX (Remeros Paralímpicos en Apoyo a la Discapacidad Física): 9:39.0

Men’s 2000m
Open – Gregory Davis – USA (Unaffiliated): 5:53.0
Open LW – Murray Bales-Smith – RSA (University of Johannesburg): 6:35.0
U17 – Shane Keagan – CAN (Ridley College): 6:15.3
U19 – Michael Caryk – CAN (Manitoba Rowing Association): 6:09.9
U19 LW – Brandon Fernandez – USA (Oak Neck Rowing Academy): 6:40.4
U23 – Sam Stewart – CAN (Brock University): 6:09.8
U23 LW – Bruno Cetraro – URU (Montevideo Rowing Club): 6:14.5
M30 – Paul Marcy – USA (South California Scullers Club): 5:59.3
LM30 – Derek O’Farrell – CAN (Elmwood School): 6:34.5
M40 – Shawn Bastic – USA (SUB 7 Indoor Rowing Club): 6:17.1
LM40 – Juan Zunzunegal – ESP (Unaffiliated): 6:25.1
M50 – Andrew Benko – USA (Unaffiliated): 6:13.3
LM50 – Carlos Reategui – USA (Lake Merritt Rowing Club): 6:36.6
M55 – Steve Turner – GBR (MAD Team IRC): 6:24.7
LM55 – Steve Tague – USA (SUB 7 Indoor Rowing): 6:51.5
M60 – Giorgio Vallebuona – CHI (Deportivo Aleman de Concepcion): 6:40.3
LM60 – Martine Luirink – NED (ERV Beatrix): 6:41.8
M65 – Gustave Schoch – CAN (Victoria City Rowing Club): 6:43.2
LM65 – David Spector – USA (Unaffiliated): 7:11.5
M70 – Norton Schlachter – USA (Unaffiliated): 7:15.7
M75 – Roger Stainforth – GBR (Durham Amateur Rowing Club): 7:35.9
M80 – Alan McClennen – USA (Cape Cod Masters Rowing): 8:02.7
LM80 – William Hosken – USA (Power Rowing): 8:56.7
M85 – David Willett – CAN (St. Catharines Rowing Club): 9:48.0
M90 – Frederik Osborne – USA (Unaffiliated): 10:52.2
PR3 – Luis Alberto Salas – ARG (Club Nautico Zarate): 7:00.4

Soldier On (4 minutes): Sean Walsh – USA (Unaffiliated): 1228m
Soldier On (1 minute): Phil Badanal – CAN (Unaffiliated): 318m

For full results please visit RegattaCentral.